MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, has anyone found an accurate r/l for Berrys 180 grain? This is the first time I've tried them and the ball is still out on them. I prefer Precision Bullets (www. precisionbullets.com).

Loads worked up so far: Precision 185 gr. RNF, 4.8 gr. WST or Precision 185 RNF, 5.0 Universal Clays. Both @ 1.130 OAL

Loads attempted w/ Berry's 180, 1.125 OAL: WST 4.0,4.2,4.4,4.6,4.8 Unique 5.2,5.4,5.5,5.6,5.8 Win231 4.1,4.3,4.5,4.7,4.9 Results: Unhappy w/ all of these, although the Unique @ 5.6 and the Win [email protected] 4.7 were probably the most near accurate. I shoot off lead shot b/r @ ten yards for accuracy. I have been shooting pistols for 30 years, so am pretty sure the inaccuracy is not me, it is the reloads. If anyone has worked up some Berrys 180 accurate reloads, please post. THX

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
well, you are missing one very important piece of data, velocity. Actually two.. what;'s your definition of accurate?

I'm about to start laoding berry's 180gr rnfp's myself. dimensionally they seem very close to the precision-delta's that I ahd been using. We'll see what i get out of them. I';ve got at least one person who says they haven't been able to work up a major power factor load with berry's 180s to save their life, but minor PF is fine.

Currently, i load 180gr precision deltas to 1.125OAL over 3.7gr of titegroup and get about 136pf out of them. Shooting offhand, I could keep the majority of them in a 6 inch group at 30 yards without trying too hard. they definitely opened up after 15-20 yards, however i ahve meade some changes to the load that seems to be reuslting in more accuracy. Namely backing off the crimp and moving to a redding competition seating die where I know i'm not picking up any erronious roll crimp from my seating die.

I'll definitely share when I get my berry's loads together, probably ave something in a week or so.

·
Registered
32 Posts