MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to stock up on some FMJ range ammo, and will eventually order a variety of 50 round boxes to try before ordering a case.
I am fairly new to 9mm, as I have shot mostly .40 and .45 for years.
But I was wondering what weight you guys have found most accurate in your M&P's ?

I like the idea of an intermediate weight 124 grain in my carry ammo, more velocity than 147, a bit more mass than 115 grain. And I'd like my practice ammo to be the same weight as my carry ammo.
But if 115 grain or 147 grain is noticeably more accurate, I wouldn't be opposed to trying some.

For me to order a variety of all 3 weights will end up being a lot of ammo, and a lot of testing. It would be nice to narrow things down by sticking with one weight.
I will be shooting the ammo out of a PC Shield with 3 inch barrel, and a Fullsize with 5 inch barrel.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I've never run the 147 grain but have run both 115 and 124 through both my Shield and 4" barrel Compact. I can't say I've noticed a difference in accuracy. I'd read that the 124 was supposed to be better so I intentionally tried it along with the 115 on the same day in the same guns and honestly didn't see a difference.

·
Registered
312 Posts
I think you'll need to test your particular gun to see what it "likes" best, and if there's any significant difference in felt recoil.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
I'm of the opinion that you need to shoot it in your gun too. Just because different manufacturers have the same weight bullet doesn't mean their loads will act the same.

I don't know if this means anything to you, but 147s are inherently subsonic, the others probably won't be. It makes a difference if you intend having a can sometime.

Reactions: haroldg48

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #7