MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know of any data showing the accuracy of a pistol changing after the gun has been shot enough for the barrel/gun to heat up? I know that it can be an issue with rifles. I am having trouble with my point of impact changing between trips to the range with my 9mm EZ. Today, I started shooting at 9 feet and my accuracy was quite good with tight groups. I shot a few more shots and then moved to 15 feet and 21 feet. My POI was off to the left by 2-3 inches. I moved back to 9 feet and I was also off by 2-3 inches. I was really making an effort to shoot accurately. My grip was strong. I ended up adjusting the rear sight a bit and then I was able to hit my target. I also have a laser on the gun and I have seen similar changes in accuracy using the laser. I have been through this dance several times with this gun and also with my 380 EZ.

What is your experience with the EZ pistols?

I don't have the same problem with my H&K VP9 so I don't believe it is something that I am doing.

·
Registered
315 Posts
I don’t have a Shield EZ, but I have a Shield. Comparing a Shield to an HK VP9 is apples and oranges. The Shield is belly gun; not a duty or target gun. 2-3 inch accuracies are as good as most anyone could hope for. The coefficient of thermal expansion would not move your barrel enough to really notice a difference in that short distance. The repeatability of the barrel to the slide, or more precisely to the sights could cause it.

Or…it could just be you. :laughing:

I have to say if I was within 2-3 inches with my Shield; I was good to go. :yes

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why are my groups tight but shift?