MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started shooting last Aug. when a friend of my convinced me to come watch an IDPA match in Wilkesboro (The true home of NASCAR... at least that's what the local claim.) After watching him for about 10 minutes I was hooked.

A friend of mine at work who has a Curio and Relic Firearms license had purchased a SA 1911 Mil-spec for himself and I got him to sell it to me. (My first degree in college was a BA in Military History and I always wanted one.)

Well my friend who got me hooked on IDPA won an M&P40 last year at the Carolina Cup match in Oxford and he kept bragging on it. But I wasn't convinced (besides they were still fairly expensive and hard to find in this area.)

So next I bought a Styer M9, and have been shooting with it. Shoots like a dream once you get use to its trapezoid sites.

Well lo and behold another friend who also shoots IDPA and is a parole officer purchased and M&P 40 for himself, then the M&P9 and then M&P9 compact... (Must be nice to be single.
) He allowed me to shoot each of the other styles. Then I final got a chance to shoot the M&P45 at the Carolina Cup this year. S&W had a booth set up where you could shoot several of their weapons with their ammo for free.

Because of the S&W booth my friend that won the M&P (BTW he won his division with it this year at the Carolina Cup) gave it to his wife to shoot (and she won't give it back to him.) So he had to go out and replace it with a M&P 45...

Well needless to say after shooting my friends weapons and the 45 at the Cup I was hooked and lucked into a deal to get a M&P 40 with night sites and my wife said HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!. (I have the coolest wife 8) )