MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are the M&P's dry or wet pistols ? I mean do they work with little oil or do they need lots of oil ? For example the 1911 is a wet gun , the Glock is a dry gun . Any information is appreciated . I am still kinda new to these and I'm learning.

·
Registered
879 Posts
Seven drops of oil is all it takes. Listed oil points in owners manual. One drop per site. Some guys don't even do that, and they seem to keep going with out a hitch.

Are the M&P's dry or wet pistols ? I mean do they work with little oil or do they need lots of oil ? For example the 1911 is a wet gun , the Glock is a dry gun . Any information is appreciated . I am still kinda new to these and I'm learning.

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
I use Slide Glide grease and at lot more than the 7 points in the manual.

·
Registered
112 Posts
I use Slide Glide grease and at lot more than the 7 points in the manual.
I used to oil mine quite a bit as I was coming from a 1911 background. However my pistol told me I was oiling it too much by splattering me with oil, and kept doing it until I got the message. :rambo:

·
Registered
3,555 Posts
Pretty dry.

After a good coating of general CLP everywhere, I wipe mine down and lightly hit the rails and barrel hood. That's it. Multiple guns, tens of thousands of rounds, since 2009.;l

Jeff

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
I'd say that M&Ps are dry pistols. I use very little oil or other lube. Some say you should break them in wet but I don't think it's necessary. At least in my experiences.

·
Registered
146 Posts
It CAN run very dry.

However, like most pistols, having enough lubricant to cover areas where parts slide on each other to some thickness would be better.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Pretty dry.

After a good coating of general CLP everywhere, I wipe mine down and lightly hit the rails and barrel hood. That's it. Multiple guns, tens of thousands of rounds, since 2009.;l

Jeff