MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, new here and love all the great info here. I just go my M&P 40 yesterday, went to the range, put 10 rounds in it. FTE every shot! Casing would get stuck and next round would butt up behind it. I've been reading about these problems and they seem to be resolved by cleaning the extractor, mine is brand new, I fired 5 rounds and every one, FTE. I guess one good thing is I live 10 minutes from S&W. Pulled out the reliable SW99 and put 300 rounds through it with no problem. I'm new to the sport so if there is anyting anyone could tell me about these failures and how common they are I would appreiciate it.

·
Registered
2,035 Posts
Did you clean and inspect the firearm prior to shooting? Reloads or which manufacturer and type of ammunition? Any marks on the rim of the brass that fte'd? More info would help us help u.

·
Registered
573 Posts
Have you tried loading a full magazine and then manually cycling the slide to see if it would feed and eject the rounds? Sounds like a broken extractor to me. The barrel does say.40 on the top?? Please let us know what S&W says about you gun.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Went throught the gun top to bottom. Cleaned the barrel, oiled real good and went back to the range. I have to say I think it's the ammo. Grabbed two boxes of Federal. Not a miss. The gun fired perfect and true. My SW99 .40 can take Wolf ammo all day long. I guess that's not the case with the MP 40. I have to say, I am really impressed with this pistol. You get what you pay for. What do you guys use for range ammo? I'm not so much concerned about price. When I'm at the range I want my equipment to perform...flawlessly. I don't have lots of time to get to the range so when I'm there I want my time to be spent putting rounds through a target not clearing jams.

·
Registered
1,771 Posts