MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new to pistols. I did add a bit of lube along the surfaces where the Slide runs back and forth. After I shot it a few days ago I took it home and cleaned it right away. So my question what are the proper lubing points on these. I just used a clear lube from a gun cleaning kit that I have had for years. Also, is it recommended or is it good to remove the bolt housing the return spring? I haven't tried to remove the spring yet, but I notice the guide shaft had some powder on it. Do you just use a spray cleaner on the shaft and then a light lube spray or just leave it cleaned. That question goes for the rest of the mechanisms also.

Thanks for the tips and advice.

·
Registered
2,035 Posts
I don't have time to find it right now, but if you do a search you will find a link with detailed pics. Do you have the owners manual? It does run you through it there too!

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah I have the manual and I did read thru it. Just wondered if you guys went any further then this? Or what you were using? The manual I believe said to use a Gun Oil. I would think that would be too thin...but anything heavier I would think would collect to much powder.

·
Registered
42 Posts
The manual goes over this process pretty well, field strip it, clean it (however you can to get the gunk off), and oil it. I use breakfree clp to clean and oil. My carry gun gets cleaned once a week.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah this last time I bought a spray can of Remington Gun cleaner and lubricant. I had a tube of Teflon clear grease that I put on the slides the first time, but didn't think I would need that for sure. I only used it prior too, for putting on the slides of my .22 rifle and my shot guns.

·
Registered
498 Posts