MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

Some of the folks I shoot with have highly recommended getting into reloading. I've never done it before and know nothing about gear or technique. Can anyone recommend a couple of setups for me to start out? First a no holds barred dream setup, next a nice setup, and finally a high quality economy setup. I would be reloading mostly .40, some 9mm, and .270 rifle. From what I've read on this forum thus far, Dillon is the way to go. Any comments on that?

Thanks in advance!

MC

·
Site Staff
9,606 Posts
Dillon is definitely the way to go if you are going to shoot in any quantity, a 650 is the nicer choice, but the 550 is excellent and a good choice, I've been using a 550 for over 20 years.

http://dillonprecision.com/default.cfm?

For a good kit but lower volume, the RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme Kit

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/...leitemid=646599

A basic kit but not a bad starter, RCBS Partner Kit

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/...leitemid=140616

If you want a progressive go with the Dillon, the add on kits for the RCBS are exactly that, add ons, trying to make a press that wasn't designed for progressive reloading a progressive, it SORT OF WORKS, but it's a compromise, the Dillon was designed from the ground up to be progressive.

Also keep in mind that if you start with a RCBS Rock Chucker and decide to go progressive later, you will still find uses for the Rock Chucker, a single stage will always remain useful.

If you look at my reloading bench you will see on the far right my original Lyman open front C press from the 1960's, in the middle is my Rock Chucker I bought in 1970, and on the left is my 550 where most of my reloading is done, but the Rock Chucker still gets the rifle calibers that I don't reload in quantity.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What is meant by progressive?