MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5,062 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was there a defining moment where the importance of gun safety was ingrained in your head because of something stupid you did? Maybe you had a ND, or witnessed someone else have a ND, or maybe you swept someone and got screamed at, etc. The thread about the guy who accidentally killed his wife made me think about this.

For me, there was one particular incident, where as a rookie, I was explaining how the gun functioned to a friend. I had the "unloaded" pistol pointed towards the ground and my finger was off the trigger, and I pulled back the slide and out popped a round from the chamber.
:roll: I'm just glad I did not pull the trigger during my little demonstration. That experience is something I will never forget it.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I had a bad experience years ago involving alcohol and a loaded .38 revolver. Thank goodness nobody died, although someone was injured. I didn't touch a gun for 15 years after that. Not a day goes by that I don't think about it.

I have six years sober now. And I am a safety nut when it comes to firearms. Hell, I thought I was back then, but I was wrong.

When I read that other thread, my heart sank even further upon reading he was a Marine.

I remember my ND, one of the responding cops said "You are a Marine. This should have never f#*&ing happened." That one stuck with me.

·
Registered
2,990 Posts
I got into firearms after my trip to Iraq, we had a lot of people getting in trouble for a nd. the one that really scared me was when the gunner of a .50 rolled back in and forgot that a round was chambered and the round went screaming past the guard position scared the piss outta me.

·
Registered
512 Posts