MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
I noticed a dent in the beginning of the rifling on my almost brand new m&p9 2.0. The gun is 6 months old, and i shot aprox. 1000 round.
Have you ever seen that kind of damage before? The ammo i used was Igman 124g and Maxtech 115g both FMJ. Pics included

·
Registered
292 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
I don't think that is much to fuss about at this point. After shooting more rounds, I would make it a point to monitor the area for obvious changes. That is more likely from the manufacturing process than damage from use. Disclaimer: I am NOT an expert, nor will I ever be.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Welcome to the forum.
I don't think that is much to fuss about at this point. After shooting more rounds, I would make it a point to monitor the area for obvious changes. That is more likely from the manufacturing process than damage from use. Disclaimer: I am NOT an expert, nor will I ever be.
Thanks for the reply, i have contacted the seller and now am wating for their answer. I have cleaned the gun every week after the use on the gun range. I always check the barrel after cleaning and yesterday i noticed the dent. It was not there few weeks ago.

·
Registered
61 Posts
No, everything is normal to me.
I gotta be honest. This would bug me too. But if it has no other effect than seeing it when looking for it, I could learn to live with it. If it were at the crown end of the barrel it might harm the pistol's accuracy.

I know it's probably easier to say when it's not me.

·
Registered
292 Posts
If it is a soft spot from a variation in the heat treatment of the material, you might be able to see further changes with use... if you do, I wouldn't hesitate in acquiring a new barrel. I agree with Tiribulus.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·