MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Something I always wondered. I usually wait until the day after to clean my pistols, sometimes up to a week. I always clean my firearms spotless when I do clean them. Do I risk harm to my pistols, particularly the stainless steel bore?

I use Remington UMC and WWB.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Um... I understood that a MP9 didn't have to be cleaned even after every range visit.

I enjoy cleaning my gun but sometimes I am busy or preoccupied (I could be cleaning it but I am on line instead for example). I shot 600 rounds a couple weeks ago and went back for another 300 around 10 days later and never cleaned it between.

·
Registered
97 Posts
I'm no expert here but I'd guess it's minimal. I get tired of cleaning my guns all the time... I used to be anal about it. But now I'll sometimes do it every other range trip or after a couple times shooting a gun. What I try never to do is run them dry. Even if I don't clean them I'll drop some oil on the barrel and slide rails.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I am still looking to make sure there is nothing wrong with my M&P between shootings. I can see not cleaning it as much once I am sure its solid and broke in.

·
Registered
119 Posts
There are chemical reactions in play, the longer you wait, the harder it is to get your weapon clean. Every time I finish at the range, before I pack up my weapon, I always do a quick field strip and run a snake through the barrel. Once I get home I do at least a fieldstrip cleanup. If I have time I do a total breakdown of the weapon and clean every inch of the thing.

·
Registered
2,990 Posts
Being in the military they beat it in you to clean, clean and when in doubt clean..... after every range trip I enjoy cleaning them if I dont go shooting for about a month I will clean it anyway.... I know a clean firearm will fire if depened on I dont know about a dirty one, it never stays dirty

·
Registered
2,035 Posts