MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really like the HiViz (overmolded), but would I be better served by going with a SW night site/10-8 rear on a 9c for CCW use? I don't have any guns with FO's on them, so I have no real experience regarding their durability.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Fiber Optic fronts are pretty common in USPSA limited class. They are nice in that they are very visible when they are new. The plastic sheath tends to get dirty fairly easily and can get "cloudy" if it gets chemicals on it, and then they are nowhere near as bright. All of the guys that I know that use a FO front replace the fiber before any big match and carry a 6-12" piece of fiber and a cigarette lighter in their range bag. I have seen people loose the fiber optic tube in the middle of a course of fire. For any kind of serious use sight, I would reccomend either the XS sights we build where I work, the Warren tactical seriess, or Trijicons. I would definitely reccomend that the tritium vial have some sort of white white ring around it (Trijicon started doing this a few years back, and it makes their fronts considerably easier to see). I just don't trust the fiber optic to hold up too well during hard use.

Joe

·
Registered
130 Posts
jake94134 said:
I really like the HiViz (overmolded), but would I be better served by going with a SW night site/10-8 rear on a 9c for CCW use? I don't have any guns with FO's on them, so I have no real experience regarding their durability.

For strictly carry I'd go with tritium night sights. I only use FO's for competition with one exception and that is my Glock 19 which I have Truglo's FO/Tritium sights. I use that gun for competiton and for carry occassionally. So far I've had no problems with them.

I don't know how well the overmolded HiViz would do. I know a few local competion shooters who have them.