MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This will probably be boring to the more experienced readers of this forum, but I hope it will be useful to other new S&W owners or people who are looking for their first handgun.

My wife and I bought our first handgun a few weeks ago. After a lot of research, testing some different models and discussions with friends (an LEO and an NRA instructor) we chose an S&W MP 9mm 2.0 full size with the five inch barrel. The model we bought has the internal safety and my wife chose the flat dark earth color since everyone seems to have black guns. We considered the Sig Sauer P320 as our other option, but in the end the feel, weight and grip of the M&P worked best for both of us. It was also a better price than the Sig and was American made so that was two more points in its favor.

I had reservations about buying it, to be honest. I bought a gun similar to what cops carry but I'm just a beginner so I wasn't sure about it. We both had rifles/shotguns when we were kids but are new to handguns. I was concerned we bought more than we could handle and that we would have problems figuring it out, maintaining it and using it. Yesterday, we finally had a day off and were able to take it to the range to fire it for the first time.