MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It appears that both Speer Gold Dot and Federal HST are highly regarded cartridges. Given identical weights and pressures in 9mm is there any reason to select one over the other? Or does it just get down to price and availability?

·
Registered
1,361 Posts
I'm not a ballistics expert but I think that they are so close I'd go by price. Somebody posted Doc's list around here. Look it up and pick what you can afford.

·
Registered
5,062 Posts
Yes, generally you can get more rounds for less money if you go with HST. HST is not bonded as the Gold Dots are but they still do very well through windshields, for example, the barrier that tends to make mincemeat out of so many rounds.

Here is the 9mm list from Dr. Roberts that was referenced in an earlier post:

9 mm:

Barnes XPB 105 & 115 gr JHP (copper bullet)

Federal Tactical 124 gr JHP (LE9T1)

Speer Gold Dot 124 gr +P JHP

Winchester Ranger-T 124 gr +P JHP (RA9124TP)

Winchester Partition Gold 124 gr JHP (RA91P)

Winchester Ranger-T 127 gr +P+ JHP (RA9TA)

Federal Tactical 135 gr +P JHP (LE9T5)

Federal HST 147 gr JHP (P9HST2)

Remington Golden Saber 147 gr JHP (GS9MMC)

Speer Gold Dot 147 gr JHP

Winchester Ranger-T 147 gr JHP (RA9T)

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys. I have seen Doc's list. In fact I have read a lot of the ballistics discussions on this forum. Especially the entries by DocGKR. It seemed to me that HST and Gold Dot are very close in performance, but for some reason Gold Dot seemed more popular. I wondered if there was something I was missing, considering the price difference.

One thing I see is that Gold Dot 124 +p is on the list and the HST 124 +p is not. Since many people prefer 124gr over 147gr that may be a reason for using Gold Dot. I wonder if the HST 124gr +P is not on the list because of performance or for some other reason.