MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in North Carolina and was wondering is it against the law to have a handgun in your vehicle on the front seat unconvered in plain view of sight. From what I have read this is not considered concealed. I do not have a CCW permit but sometimes take my handguns to the family farm in my vehicle to do some practicing. What is the proper way to transport if you don't have a CCW permit.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I am a police officer of 12 plus years. If someone tells me on a traffic stop that they're carrying a gun under their license (in my state, it's called a Concealed Weapon License officially), I feel a little safer knowing that I have someone who is not a convicted felon and is most likely an honest Joe/Jane.

My wife was recently pulled over by a state trooper. When she informed him of her CWL (as is required by state law) he had her put her hands on the wheel, removed her from the vehicle and made her sit in the car with him while he conducted business. I don't exactly work in Mayberry but I really doubt that a woman would: never get in trouble with the law, go through background checks and fingerprinting, wait three months, get a handgun license, steal a nice vehicle, dress as a business woman, intentionally get pulled over by a cop, tell him she has a license to carry, tell him she has a gun and where it is, then shoot him.
He was very professional and polite, but that just seems a little inane to me.

·
Registered
1,351 Posts
By reading NC law it appears that you can have a handgun on seat in plain view without breaking the law. But since they state that there is no specific law covering transporting a handgun I would get a permit to be safe. A traffic stop could go bad real quick this way. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,599 Posts