MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to both MP-Pistol dot com and my new M&P 9mm Compact. I am in the market now for holsters. I've broken my needs down to 3 types and I think I have the first 2 covered fairly well, but any input is much appreciated. My main question centers around a dedicated CCW holster.

1) OWB - Something I can wear around the house, at the range and/or anytime I have jacket or something that gives a lot of cover. I have a Blackhawk Sherpa for my Sig P220 and I was planning on getting one for my new Compact 9mm.

2) IWB/clip on style: I was looking for something I could get immediately that will give me a IWB option as well as I can use it for very casual wear..i.e. jeans and no heavy belt, around the house, etc. I like what I've seen so far about the Don Hume H715-M W.C.: Waistband Clip-On. The price is right too. I'd love any feedback on this one.

3) IWB/Normal CCW wear: So far, based on all of my reading and research prior to picking the S&W M&P Compact, most folks were always saying Milt Sparks Versa Max 2 or Comp Tac CTAC when the question of "best IWB CCW holster" came up. Same seems true now that I'm focused just on the M&P market.

For those that have used each or better yet, both, is there any significant difference or reason why to pick one over the other? I know the wait is significant for the MS VM2 as well as more expensive. The CTAC is supposedly more available as well as less cost. I'm fairly new to CCW so I don't have any experience or bias for or against the leather vs. klndex. I'd love to hear your thoughts and experiences.

thanks

·
Registered
80 Posts
1) OWB - Something I can wear around the house, at the range and/or anytime I have jacket or something that gives a lot of cover. I have a Blackhawk Sherpa for my Sig P220 and I was planning on getting one for my new Compact 9mm.