MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are the advantages of Kydex or leather holsters?

To me, it seems that a leather holster would be snug/tight at first, break-in well, and then get sloppy with old age. I really have no idea what to get, and I am not good at buying things that I cannot test-fit.

PS Does anyone make M&P holsters with a lock? What does everyone think about those designs?

·
Registered
103 Posts
Holsters are a personal thing, kinda like underwear or socks. Personally, I prefer good leather. It tends to conform to you. With kydex, you have to conform to the holster 'cause it doesn't flex very easily. Leather looks better IMHO, and will last for quite a while if you spend the money on good leather and take care of it. Kydex is lower maintenance, more resistant to chemicals and oils, and is very durable. The best thing to do would be to find another shooter in your area that has a couple of different holsters you can try on the range.

Joe

·
Registered
16 Posts
I'll throw my 2 cents in. I prefer kydex and I'm partial to the comp-tac brand. I've only got one leather holster and all the rest are kydex. I've been carrying my ccw in the same comp-tac holster for the last 9 years straight nearly every day with no issues at all.

When it came time to choose my first holster 9 years ago my local range/shop owner steered me to the comp-tacs and said the days of carrying weapons in dead animal hide are over. He laughed with that remark and said there's nothing wrong with leather but the right kydex holster is superior.