MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The .40 is loud as hell w/o earplugs. I was out shooting some clays w/ my brother in law earlier today and a stray dog started walking towards us from about 70 yards away or so. I didn't want to kill it just make it go away, so I fired one shot at the ground in front of it. It ran off, but my ears are still ringing 2 hours later.

Everyone, make sure you use ear protection even if you are just out at a farm shooting.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Guns are loud, Yes. I really don't think you should be shooting at anything

you don't fully intend to destroy though.

·
Site Staff
9,618 Posts
Back when I started shooting seriously, a lot of people didn't use ear protection, and there was quite a campaign to get people to start using hearing protection. I'd go out to the range for an afternoon of shooting and come back with the worst headaches, that got me started using ear protection, and I've used it religiously every since, and my hearing is still good, but a lot of the guys who were shooting a lot before that had lost a lot of hearing. I grew up around music, I played in the band since I was a kid, and continued in various types of music through college, I like music, and would sure miss hearing it in the detail that I am used to!

Use hearing protection, it's very important, don't ruin your hearing for the rest of your life like so many have done in the past.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
In the past, when I was a teenager, I have shot several guns w/o earplugs. Mostly 9mm, .22 and .45. This was the first time that I have heard a .40 w/o plugs and I never want to again.