MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to these wonderful pistols. I'm a long time SIG Sauer and HK shooter, along with others, but these are my hangun brands I'm passionate about. These pistols have gotten my interest like nothing else over the last several years. I now own two, full size and compact 9mm, and will be buying the full .40 and compact when available, as well as the .45

Now...I have not personally experienced any failures or defects with my compact, but only have about 400 rounds through it. I have yet to shoot my full size 9 having just bought it yesterday. I do have to say however, I'm a bit concerned at the number of problem reports...FTE's, sights falling off, slides slamming home or prematurely locking back, and broken strikers. I mean there over 600 posts in the technical problem section of this forum alone. That sucks.

This is a pistol I'm so betting on. It has so many outstanding qualities. The fit and finish is as good or even better than my HK's, the triggers on my two pistols aren't gritty at all, the lockup is vault solid with NO slide to frame play, the ergonomics are PERFECT for my hand with the small back strap, the pistol points as naturally as a 1911, and it's a very handsome pistol to boot! It has the feel of a pistol that would be hard to wear out, yet there are a lot of owners talking about trips back to Springfield, range breakdowns, and one of the most frustrating thinng for a self defense pistol is the FTE's and striker failures. As I said, I haven't had a chance to even shoot the full size 9 yet, but in ejecting a live round from the pistol it kind of dribbles out of the ejector port, vs spinning out with authority as my SIG's, HK's and even the MP compact does.