MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering concealed carry, but I am a bit worried that the comfort of IWB will stop me from doing it most of the time. So, is it possible to actually conceal the M&P with a OWB high rise holster of some kind? If anyone has one, will you please share your thoughts.

THanks.

·
Registered
373 Posts
http://mp-pistol.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=687

A place to start. Concealment is a matter of clothing choice or options as much as holster choice. I plan around both. I have carried bigger guns than an MP concealed. There is, I think, a high rise leather holster at the M and P store on this site that looks like it might be one you might be talking about, but several makers do this same style both with and without a thumbreak. I have no personal experience with it, I prefer straight drop Kydex OWBs for most all of my carry...though I do have to dress for it.

·
Registered
168 Posts
With the right holster and right cover garment, it can be done w/o issues. Get a good holster. For *my* money, leather seems to work better. That's not to say the kydex can't work.

Where the holster rides also makes a difference. For instance, wearing it at 4:30 as opposed to 3 o'clock will conceal better... until you bend over at the waist.

Don't be afraid to go OWB, but understand you will have to experiment a little.

·
Registered
464 Posts
I'm using the S&W hi-rise from their site made by Desantis. It sticks to my ribs and cannot be seen. It's very comfortable and I often forget I have it on. My partner has to poke me to be sure its there. I also have a McDaniel from Andrews leather IWB thats great. Right holser for the right get-up is important!

See this post http://mp-pistol.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=373 Lots of choices.

·
Registered
43 Posts