MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am seeing a lot of guns coming from the factory with lasers already on them, namely Kimber and SW 1911's with CT laser grips. Also seeing alot of push for lasers on shows like G&A TV, Personal defense TV... Yes, I know the laser makers are advertisers and sponsors of these shows. None the less it started me thinking about them, but I must admit that I am a complete newb when it comes to lasers. I understand the general principles behind the, just not the practicalities in deploying one.

For those that use one, how do you use it? Do you CCW with it, use it for training only... How much of a stance /grip change do you have to relearn so your existing sights dont obscure the laser..

Sounds silly, I know, but what are your thoughts?

·
Registered
64 Posts
Every time I try one I lose the front sight and start watching the target instead. I shoot like crap with them! LOL

For defense situations I can't get around the obvious issue with showcasing where you are every time you aim the pistol too.

·
Registered
378 Posts
I think they have a place. Just 1 more tool on the gun, like night sights. U will get nay sayers who will give U all sorts of reasons not to have them. And, U will get some pro responses too.

As long as U don't rely on them all the time, they have their place.

I has 1 in the 1990s. Now, the only one I have is on my PS90 carbine.

·
Registered
190 Posts
I carry one on my Glock 19, which sees duty as a CCW pistol from time to time. The advanatages to the laser far outnumber the listed negatives. People, too often, forget that the laser is an auxilary aiming device in most situations. If you want to see their true effectiveness, do some shooting from unconventional positions and do some low-light work.

·
Registered
573 Posts