MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first gun was purchased last week (M&P 40), so I am a newbie at all this. Consequently, I am an awefully bad shot!!!
I keep reading reports from all you seasoned shooters, and I feel that I am even worse than I think I am.

To quote some reports that I have read: "5-shot groups off-hand at 7 yards and got all the holes to touch. Then I shot off-hand at 25 yds. and got a 2" group" and "standing freehand at 15 yds... I was getting groups of 2-3[inches]" and "I shot the M&P starting at about 15 yards, I was presently surprised when 3 of the first 4 rounds hit the 1 inch red center on my rifle target".

I gotta say, either you guys are certified experts or I should be certified as blind 8) By the way, my eyesight is very good, better than 20/20. Where can I find advice or tips to suggest the proper things I need to practice (form)???

I am right handed and I think that my right eye is dominant. I have tried the thumb-test, but I can't really get it to work. When focusing on my thumb, I still see 2 of the distant object that I'm covering. I stand with my left foot forward, feet pointed at about 10:30 if the target is 12. I grab the grip as high as possible with my right hand, wrap my 3 fingers just below the trigger guard, and place my index finger just under the slide, pointed toward the target. I then place my left palm over the end of the fingers of my right hand, wrap my 4 left-hand fingers over the 3 of my right hand, place the meaty part of my left thumb/palm in the concavity below my right thumb, and place both thumbs along the left side of the frame and under the slide. My right arm is mostly straight, but not locked. My left arm is slightly more bent. Note that my right index finger is still not placed inside the tigger guard.