MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,990 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have heard rumors of firing 9mm ammo through a .40 just wondering if this is true and what kind of damage if any it would cause???? Thanks in advance-Jason

·
Registered
259 Posts
I'm no expert, but I wouldn't advise it. Lets see if some of our experts chime in. I'd really like to hear what they have to say.

·
Registered
1,507 Posts
it can be done. It will not cycle the slide and accuracy sucks (imagine that). I would not set out to do it intentionally but it doesn't seem to harm the gun. The potential is there for a bullet to get lodged in the barrel so again I wouldn't set out to do it intentionally

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
It has happened on accident. The case usually ruptures, it doesn't sound right at all, and it isn't what I would call accurate. I know of at least one case where some of the gasses vented in a fairly unfriendly manner which did no real harm, but was not pleasant (shooter was wearing eyes and ears as they should).

It is not something that you WANT to do. But it has happened, and in all the cases I know of, both gun and shooter survived without permanent harm.

·
Registered
524 Posts
Dan Burwell said:
it can be done. It will not cycle the slide and accuracy sucks (imagine that). I would not set out to do it intentionally but it doesn't seem to harm the gun. The potential is there for a bullet to get lodged in the barrel so again I wouldn't set out to do it intentionally

Do you mean the striker to push the smaller diameter complete cartridge into the barrel, without igniting the cartridge?

Is using the 9mm in a .40 barrel feasible if say, SHTF and you happened upon 9mm ammo?

·
Registered
139 Posts