MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...so after spending more hours than I care to admit on arfcom I have been converted....I want an ar-15. My "knee-jerk" was to look into the SW MP series since I am (so far) extremely pleased with my full size 9mm and .40. But, after ALOT of research it seems like there may be other options that provide the same quality at a cheaper price. I am a complete newb when it comes to semi-auto rifles so the plan is to just buy a complete rifle and learn the ins and outs over time and NOT build one right now. Right now I am looking at the following manufacturers/rifles:

1 - Stag Model 2 (equivalent to the M&P 15A - I think they built the S&W rifles at one point - value priced)

2 - RRA Entry Tactical (DEA approved!! - pricing in line w/ Stag)

3 - Colt LE 6920 (this is my "top of the line" choice - seems to be the most highly recommended rifle on the net - about $400 more than other options)

I will use it primarily for HD and range noise. Let me know what you think of my choices. Any other opinions you guys can offer are appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,351 Posts
Three good picks and you should do good with any but check with Grant from G&RTACTICAL, a sponsor here as he may save you some money. He is the man when it comes to ARs.

·
Registered
190 Posts
All good picks...also check out Sabre defense as well. http://www.sabredefence.com/ They can get a little pricy but see if you can find one around your area to shoot and try out. Make sure to check out the Massad Ayoob model. But ya have to fire one to see what I mean

·
Registered
2,035 Posts
I've got all three and they are all excellent weapons. I build my own now though!

Easy way to build on is to buy a complete upper and a complete lower then put them together. RRA allows you to customize an upper so you can usually get what you want from them. A CMT/Stag lower can be had pretty easy too!