MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never fired a gun before and just decided to purchase one for home protection. I checked out several handguns yesterday and the M&P felt the best in my hand by far. Would you recommend the M&P for a newb? What about a .40 as opposed to a 9mm? My buddy, who is taking me to a range to fire a couple of his Glocks tomorrow, thinks the 9mm isn't powerful enough and recommended a .40. The gun dealer I visited advised that I stay away from the Glocks because I'm a newb and thus might be a little too twitchy with the 5 pound trigger (he's probably right). Is the 6.5 pound pull a good middle ground for a newb? Anything else I should know before I buy?

Thanks for any advice!

P.S. The other guns I handled at the store were a Glock 22 & 23, a Sig Suaer 229, and a S&W .357 revolver.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Just my .2 cents, but i think anyone who is new to handling and firing handguns, and is intent on buying a primary "house gun" should first invest in a good revolver loaded with low recoil, low penetration self defense ammo. IMHO, best of luck.

·
Registered
5,062 Posts
If I were you, I'd get a 9mm, but that's just my opinion.

nevrbvictim said:
Just my .2 cents, but i think anyone who is new to handling and firing handguns, and is intent on buying a primary "house gun" should first invest in a good revolver loaded with low recoil, low penetration self defense ammo. IMHO, best of luck.
"low penetration self defense ammo"...now there's an oxymoron. :wink:

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
nevrbvictim said: