MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to shooting and picked up my first handgun this past weekend. Does anyone know of any good places to pick up cheap ammunition in Massachusetts? Specifically in .40 S&W

·
Registered
498 Posts
Bonzini31 said:
I am new to shooting and picked up my first handgun this past weekend. Does anyone know of any good places to pick up cheap ammunition in Massachusetts? Specifically in .40 S&W

First off let me say welcome to the site!

Secondly, get practice ammo the same place everyone else goes, walmart! It's damn near impossible to beat their price on WWB (Winchester White Box) and Blazer Brass FMJ practice rounds.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Bonzini31 said:

Welcome! If you are near Woburn, check out Four Seasons. They do pretty well with ammo prices, especially with their frequent sales.

·
Registered
660 Posts
Go with Walmart for target ammo. For carry ammo go to one of the many fine on line dealers discussed in other threads. Buying from a gun shop will cost you way too much. Example would be a 20rnd box of Speer gold dots for $18 change at my "local gunshop" vs 50rnd of Winchester Ranger or Federal HST for about $20 through my usual online dealer.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Dick's usually has a sale on ammo. Past Sunday's paper had 9 mm (the one that I remember) for $6.98 per box with a 10 box buy.

·
Registered
112 Posts
same place everyone else goes, walmart!

I don't know if this is unique to the Chicago area, but around here they don't carry much ammo, and what they do have is equally priced to everywhere else. ~$15/50.

Drive a bit away from the city (keeping in mind I live almost an hour north, almost in Wisconsin), and WalMarts have a much better selection and the "good" pricing on WWB 100 boxes (~17/100).

They also tend to get a lot cleaner, more cashiers, etc...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #10