MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

First let me say that I am very new to pistols. I have gained intrest pistols since shooting my dad's S&W 460 and Ruger P345. I am on the verge of buying a gun of my own, and love the looks and specs of the M&P 45 (especially with a surefire light on the rail
).

With that being said would this be "too much" of a gun for me? I plan on using it for mostly home defense (I don't think it would be good for concealment.) and weekend shooting. Some friends of mine say I should purchase a revovler for a first gun (my wife wants a 637 with Crimson Trace sights, and I do plan on buying her one), while other friends say go for the auto.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance

Joe

·
Registered
312 Posts
I had my first .45ACP when I was still in my early youth. It didn't recoil nearly as much as I'd been told it would, and with every shooting session it became more familiar.

To be honest, I think the snappy kick of the .40 might affect me more than the shove from the .45, although I'm going by remembrances instead of back to back shooting.

·
Registered
122 Posts
You can buy any gun you want. After all, it's your money.

A good choice for a first gun is always a .22 rimfire. The

ammo is cheap. You can buy a brick of 500 for next to

nothing. The reduced recoil will teach you the basics without

causing you to develope a flinch and all of the bad habits

that come with starting out with a big bore handgun.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Joe Merchant said:
Hello all,

With that being said would this be "too much" of a gun for me? I plan on using it for mostly home defense (I don't think it would be good for concealment.) and weekend shooting. Some friends of mine say I should purchase a revovler for a first gun (my wife wants a 637 with Crimson Trace sights, and I do plan on buying her one), while other friends say go for the auto.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance

Joe