MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I am a newbie. After about 350 rounds, it's obvious that I'm shooting about 3 or so inches down and to the left from the bullseye. This is even from only 18 feet away from a resting position. I'm wondering if it's my eyes or that the sights need some significant adjustment. Seems a bit too off to be just the sights. So according to the manual, is adjusting the sights a matter of just using an allen wrench on the set screw to loosen and then nudging with a brass punch? Something about pounding on my sights with a punch make me a bit nervous, but I suppose brass won't marr them.

Anybody else had to adjust their sights on the M&P 9c this much? Thanks!

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
This is a common problem that has been discussed to a great extent. Often the problem seems to be shooter not firearm related. This is a common problem that occurs from anticipating the recoil and/or a right-handed shooter jerking the trigger. Suggestions would be practicing your trigger work, both at the range and with dry firing. Also, if you know very experienced shooters you may want to have them try it out to see if they are having the same problem. Good luck!

·
Registered
223 Posts
Yup. My 40c came from the factory with both sights off center, making the poi way left. It also shoots low for me, as I tend to shoot it like I do my 1911s and expect the poi to be just above the front sight. The M&P wants me to cover my target.

For now I just adjust my sight picture to compensate, but I am planning on installing a Trijicon up front and Warren rear soon.

·
Registered
638 Posts
Be prepared for a little more than a nudge to drift that rear sight. More like a bunt single. But before you do that, as suggested practice your trigger work. More often than not, these problems are shooter-induced.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #6