MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I finally got a pistol, a M&P 9. Now I need a holster, but I'm completely new to this, so I don't know what I need. I bought this pistol to carry when hunting and hiking, also just to shoot for fun at the range. So I need a holster that will be comfortable to carry and climb in and out (up/down) of a deer stand, also needs to not stick out too much when I'm carrying it hiking, I'm not trying to show off the fact that I'm carrying a pistol. Lastly, I do want a quality holster, but I don't want to spend too much money. I can't really define what "too much money" is, but thats a start.

So, IWB or OWB, Belt or Paddle?

I also need to choose a material, seems like my options are Leather, Nylon, Hard Plastic; Will the hard plastic scratch the finish off my pistol?

Thanks!

·
Registered
38 Posts
I'm currently shopping for a few holster options as well...

It sounds like you'd probably want an OWB. They are generally the most comfortable and allow for the fastest draw. The tradeoff being that they will be visible unless obscured by clothing.

I tried a variety of the Kydex (the hard plastic) holsters and just did not care for them much.

I would recommend looking at the Desantis leather holsters. About $60-70 for a good OWB holster. If you are going to be doing some serious hiking they also make one with a thumbreak strap on it.

Ultimately it's up to you though and what you find comfortable.

·
Registered
5,062 Posts
There's plenty of threads here on holsters so do a search. Its Comp-tac's holsters for me. IWB CTAC and OWB FBI Paddle. No matter what the holster is made of, it will eventually cause wear on the finish of your pistol.

·
Registered
38 Posts
choochboost said: