MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My new 442 groups six inches to the right at fifty feet. Anyone else have a point of impact issue? If I do send it back, what can S&W do to correct this???

·
Registered
68 Posts
I have no idea what your experience level is so don`t get insulted by my comments. I have to assume you have not shot revolvers much because I know no different.

Shooting right with a small, light revolver is not unusual. Try having others shooting it at closer ranges and shooting it off a rest. Do your best to remove the shooter from the shots. If it still is shooting off that far then return it to S&W and I`m sure they will correct it.

I do not believe there is any handgun harder to shoot accurately at longer ranges than a snubby revolver in double action, but it can be done.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No insult at all. I appreciate the input. I would rather it be me than the gun. I own a model 60, and a model 10. Both have lighter pulls double action than the 442. I can shoot them accurately, and with confidence. But I'll try the 442 again before I call S&W.

At the range, I shot three, five round groups offhand and reeled in the target. Wow! that's off... So, a fresh paper, and a chair and a sand bag under my wrist. I slowly pulled the trigger to the last notch before she would let off.....(the owner's manual says not to do this) and the same result.

I am going to go back and concentrate on my shooting, and bring a friend who can shoot for his opinion.

·
Registered
61 Posts
my 642 shoots right