MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw the newbie forum and figured I should leave my mark. I bought my first gun, an M&P 9mm, back in early May. So far I love it and it has shot very well for me. I just started shooting this year and have managed to make it to a few IDPA matches around town. I shot a classifier a few weeks ago and scored as an MM. Now I just need to find more time to practice.

The only issue I've had with the gun so far was a malfunction during my first shoot with it. We think it was actually a problem with the round and not the gun itself. It seems that the round was damaged during manufacturing and we didn't notice while loading because we were in a hurry to reload. At the time I didn't have enough mags to get through a classifier. A live round got stuck in the chamber and we had to field strip the gun on the range. It was a little scary for a few minutes but in the end it worked out okay. The round had two very strange dents in the casing that were likely in the round before we ever loaded it into the mag. It's tough to explain so maybe at some point I'll get some pics of it up here. I haven't had any problems with the gun since then and it has shot beautifully. This will be the first of many guns for me I am sure.

·
Registered
2,990 Posts
What kind of ammo was it???

Oh yeah welcome to the forum...

·
Registered
2,535 Posts
Welcome to the forum, sorry to hear you had a jam up. Thank god you had some men/women around you that new how to properly break down your M&P and safely remove the unspent cartridge!!!

I agree with 101combat, we would need to know what ammo you where using in order to determine the culprit!

G56 one of our trusty Moderators knows alot about scarry ammo to watch out for.

So please do post pictures up for us to view.

Again happy your ok, and welcome to MP-Pistol!

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
"New Girl with a New Gun"

Now that sounds like a scary combination!!