MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the handgun community as well as to this forum and I just wanted to ask a couple of questions. I just purchased the M&P 45c, which I love so far. After much deliberation between the Glock 36 and the XD-M, I went with the M&P and I am happy that I did. My first question is in regards to ammo. What kind of recommendations do people have for range ammo vs. EDC ammo. From what I've read I'm thinking perhaps 185g FMJ for range and 230g JHP +P when I'm concealing. What are your thoughts?

My last question is in regards to cleaning and maintenance. Any suggestions on cleaning kits/lubricants? I appreciate any and all advice!

·
Registered
277 Posts
Hi -- Great choice in the .45M&P...of course nobody here is likely to tell you any differently.

In your shoes, I'd shoot the same bullet weight and power both in practice and carry loads. It may not make a big difference to the way you shoot, but I would try to minimize it. That being said, any good JHP load will work defensively if it's reliable in your particular gun...try several brands and see if any one is more accurate or reliable than another.

I like G96 aerosol for cleaning and general lubrication... Have a careful look at your gun's manual for specific lubrication points...a couple of drops of oil on a Q-tip or similar will do for them. You may need to be more careful about lubrication and protection in humid or coastal areas than in dry inland locations, so give some thought to that as well.

Enjoy shooting your 45C!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi -- Great choice in the .45M&P...of course nobody here is likely to tell you any differently.