MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm a total newbie, both to this forum and to gun ownership generally, so forgive me if this is a dumb question.

It seems like there's a lot of back-and-forth online about self-defense ammo vs. practice ammo, with lots of people saying they practice with something cheap like PMC in FMJ, only shooting a magazine or so of their higher-quality, usually hollow-point, self-defense rounds every once in a while. Others seem to think this is a waste (shooting your SD rounds at all, since there's really no difference), and still others seem to kinda scoff at the idea of having two different kinds of ammo in the first place.

What do people on here think?

Thanks for your help and advice!

Jon

·
Registered
3,555 Posts
General consensus is that wasting expensive defensive ammo for practice is a waste of cash. Defensive ammo is typically 2-3 times as expensive, sometimes more.

For practice, use target ammo, so that you can practice in volume, since your body will revert to your practice/training in a stressful situation. More reps, more muscle memory, etc...

That said, you should shoot at least a few magazines of your carry ammo through your gun for two reasons... 1) Assure that it feeds and functions well. (M&Ps typically feed and shoot anything, they're not particularly sensitive) and, 2) To assure that your point of impact with your defensive ammo is close to your point of impact for practice ammo. If you shoot 115gr 9mm practice ammo, and carry 147gr defensive ammo, typically the 147gr rounds will impact 2-3" higher than the 115gr rounds in the same gun out at 25 yards. I'm not suggesting you attempt a hostage-head-shot at 25 yards as a pistol newbie... but just having confidence in your ammo goes a long way when it comes time to use it.

JeffWard

·
Registered
146 Posts
I only fire JHP for function test, and load my pistol with that when it is on operational status.