MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, mostly asking the professional smiths on this forum;

what trigger gauge to you use to check weight? brand and type?

Where on the trigger do you make contact with the trigger contact point of the gauge?

Do you feel there are any possibilities to get inaccurate readings because of inconsistent methods?

Is it me, or would it seem that striker fired pistols with a long range of pretravel may be more difficult to get consistent?

And finally, do you take a series of pulls and average them to get a final reading?

thanks!

·
Registered
5,062 Posts
olyeller said:
Hi, mostly asking the professional smiths on this forum;
I'm not a professional smith, but it is my last name and it is my carry gun. 8)

what trigger gauge to you use to check weight? brand and type?
I use this one: http://www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/store/Pro...GGER+PULL+GAUGE

Where on the trigger do you make contact with the trigger contact point of the gauge?
The lower portion so that it mimics a the pull of a finger. :wink:

Do you feel there are any possibilities to get inaccurate readings because of inconsistent methods?
I think probably so. The more pressure you put against the tool, the more it will register. I go nice and easy until the trigger breaks and I try to minimize any further and unnecessary rearward movement.

When I had my carry guns inspected, the armorer's method was to use the pistol to pick the gauge up off the table and then actually jerk the gun.

Is it me, or would it seem that striker fired pistols with a long range of pretravel may be more difficult to get consistent?
With a digital gauge where even the slightest variations register, they are all the same to me. Striker fired or otherwise.

And finally, do you take a series of pulls and average them to get a final reading?
I do. I measure it 10 times and take an average. My gauge even does the math for me.

·
Registered
2,035 Posts