MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this, so forgive me if I'm posting about a topic that may have been answered in another thread, but I was wondering about different range ammunition, and what ammunition y'all use. When I bought my Shield, I bought some Sig V-Crown, 115-grain. I was told this would be great for home defense because it's hollow point. My struggle is, what ammunition do I buy for the range? I bought about 200 rounds the other night of Blazer by CCI, 124-grain. Is this a good start for the range? Or do y'all use something cheaper? It was 50 round for $14.95, so roughly $60.00 for 200.

·
Registered
263 Posts
Nothing wrong with your selection. You should try many different brands and grains as you can. Especially the hollow points. Some pistols can be picky. Some will run anything you put in them. Do some research on the self defense ammo.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I bought 115 grain Fiocchi ball in bulk (1000 rounds) for $159 on sale. Runs clean with no issues and matches the 115 grain Hornady Critical Defense that I was using for EDC.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Just because a round has a hollow point, doesn't necessarily mean it will be a good self defense round.
Some types of JHP don't expand at all compared to other types, and some will shed their jackets and not get much penetration.

In 9mm, anything that expands to .60 or more and still gets 16 to 19 inches of penetration is outstanding.
Some 9mm loads expand to .50 caliber which is better than no expansion.
The Remington Golden Saber is considered one of the better bullets made, but the standard ( not +P) GS shed all the jackets and only expanded to .43 caliber.
Some of the Golden Sabers did well, some did poorly, choose carefully. One day I grabbed a box of Remington "Ultimate Defense" 124 grain. I thought, "they are a Golden Saber bullet, so they have to be good, right ?"