MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I recently purchased an M & P .40, so I am new to the forum. I have been a police officer for about 5 years and I have only carried a Glock. After several trips to the range with the M & P, I really like this pistol. I do have one problem though. The gun disassembles with ease, but reassembly is difficult. As I slide the slide back on the rails, it seems as if part of the trigger assembly is catching the silver button inside the slide and the slide will not close all the way. I have to really force the slide to make it close. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? I feel like if I have to keep forcing it closed, I will tear up something in the trigger assembly.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Most likely you're doing something just a little off. The M&P reassembles easily, but not as easily as the Glock.

If the silver button is what I think it is, it's the ejector. With the Glock you usually ride the slide home in close contact with the slide rails. With the M&P it helps to lift up the rear of the slide so that the ejector doesn't hinder things.

Hope that helps, since I'm not really sure what button you're referring to.

Edit ( slapping forhead...button inside the slide, now I got it) I couldn't repeat what was happening to you until I started putting the pistol together slowly with my fingers at the points on the slide matching the two parts. Gues what, it locked up.. I did it again at normal speed and it went together normally.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info. I wasn't really sure what the technical term was for it, so I just put silver button. I believe your right, it's the ejector.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forums! I have seen this slide reassembly issue in other threads, did a search and could not really find a good answer for you. Did find this, but I am not sure it will help.