MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone reloads for M&P9?

What load do you use? (powder, charge, bullet)

I’ll guess I'll find out soon for myself, but how reliable is M&P with hand loads? Is it picky or will it feed pretty much anything as long as there’s enough powder in the case?

thanks

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
Gray_Wolf said:
Anyone reloads for M&P9?

What load do you use? (powder, charge, bullet)

I’ll guess I'll find out soon for myself, but how reliable is M&P with hand loads? Is it picky or will it feed pretty much anything as long as there’s enough powder in the case?

thanks

I have been loading for my M&P9 for several months. Loads have been limited to Vihtavouri N340 powder. Bullets have been Master Blaster 115 gr., Berry 115 gr. RN, Berry 124 gr. RN, Berry 124 gr. HP , Berry 147 gr. RN. I loaded low mid and high powder charges per VV charts. Everything worked except the Berry Hollow points which tumbled Ie. keyhole in paper. 1.142 OAL for all except the HP's which I do not reccomend. All Berry's are copper plated so I used the Rainier data in Vihtavuori's chart.

My favorite load is 4.9 gr. Vihtavuori N340 with a Berry 124 gr. bullet. It shoots softly, accurately and produces 1050 FPS at 10 ft. CCI or Winchester standard small pistol primers work equaly well and yield equal results.

This load is mid range on the Vihtavuori chart so should be generaly acceptable however you should follow standard safety procedures by starting low and working up while watching for overstress signs. Safety is always your responsibility.

I hope this helps.

Good Shooting

·
Registered
4,679 Posts
I have shot a bunch of reloads through my 9mm M&Ps without any problems.

Here are 2 loads that I really like:

--124gr. XTP over 4.0gr. TiteGroup

--1.120" OAL

--147gr. XTP over 3.3gr. TiteGroup

--1.130" OAL

Have fun!!!

·
Site Staff
9,618 Posts