MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I'm currently burning 200+rds/week, my financial advisor (wife) has given me the green light to start reloading. The plan is to reload 9mm Luger and .40S&W. I have zero experience at this.

Based on what I've read here and elsewhere, I've narrowed it down to either a blue 550 or 650.

Is there any good reference matl available to reloading rookies? A Reloading for Dummies manual of sorts?

Any and all info appreciated!

·
Site Staff
9,606 Posts
Everything you ever wanted to know about Dillon reloading:

http://www.brianenos.com/pages/dillon.html

For someone just starting out I would recommend the 550, it's a lot easier to manage than the 650, I've been reloading on a 550 for about 21-22 years.

·
Registered
297 Posts
How much can reloading save you? I can get a 100 rds of winchesters for abotu 12.88 at wally world, so how much would a 100 rds cost me in reloading? I know there is some up front cost in buying the equipment to do this but other than the equipment what kind of savings is there?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Reloading costs the shooter a fortune. Flat out reality.

I started reloading when I was 15. Innocent enough.... lee loaders and a work bench

in the barn.

Years later I have multiple presses, enough gear to sink a small boat, and I now

buy firearms based on whether I want to reload that caliber. It's an addiction.

Get rid of a $100 mil-surp rifle because it won't shoot? No way! Buy a new mold and sizeing die

for another $100, then a neck sizing die for an abscure military caliber, then spend

weeks experimenting on various loads. $100 rifle = $300 in gear and dozens of hours.

I bought my latest pistol in 9mm just because I had the dies and about 2000 empties.

Not that I owned a 9mm at that point..... I just had the dies and a pile of empties to load.

Shoot for cheaper?

HAH! Bunk! Bogus! BS!

Shoot MORE!!! Yup.