MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a firearms designer or engineer, but I have a fair amount of experience with firearms and I've given a LOT of study to the mag drop problems I've experienced with my 40C. I might presume that S&W "experts" have devised perfect solutions to the mag drop problem, but I'm not so sure that has actually come about.

As I see it, the "mag drop" problems result from four causative factors. If these four factors were all addressed by S&W, I believe the mag drop problems would disappear ENTIRELY, FOR EVER!

These are issues contributing to the problem:

1) too-minimal engagement area of the mag catch metal "tab" with the magazine itself - the slightest press on the mag catch button releases the mag - this just happens too darned easily!

2) metal tab of the engagement area of the mag catch with the mag is too soft, causing it to wear easily and cause mag drops (S&W is apparently addressing the hardness issue by anodizing the metal tab)

3) mag catch spring is not as stiff as it would clearly benefit from being - a stiffer spring on the mag catch would require a more conscious, forceful effort to depress the mag catch and make the catch less sensitive (it's too danged sensitive as I see it!!!), and less likely to be inadvertantly engaged! Now really, how difficult would it be to use a somewhat stiffer spring for the mag catch???

4) overly pronounced mag catch thumb pad area - makes it all-too-easy for the shooters's thumb, if held low for whatever reason, to engage the mag catch during recoil and drop the mag when not desired! The mag catch button should not protrude as far as it does - minimizing it's protrusion would, along with the other measures listed above, reduce the likelihood of inadvertant mag drop. Designing a less pronounced mag catch button would be so simple.