MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'm putting this question to more experienced people. I am in the market for a long gun for defensive/sporting purposes. Right now I am stuck between either a shotgun or an assault rifle.

I'll be straight and say I have never fired a shotgun or assault rifle. My experienced is limited to hanguns, bolt action 30-06, and .22 rifle. However, I have plenty of experienced individuals to learn from.

I have been looking at Mossberg 500/590 and Remington 870 for awhile but was hesitant to act because of the limitation of the shotgun (being a job specific tool, ie. less lethal, short distance).

I recently have been bitten by the AR bug. It's just cool. That and I would like to learn to use one for future employment. I have contemplated buying vs. building and am pretty sure of the set up I want and where to get it. However I have also been thinking about AKs as an option, but have not done any research on them.

I recently read the new proposed AWB and this is pushing me toward the AR/AK option. A shotgun can be had even with the ban. So, based on my budget I can have one of the following:

1:a basic AR

2:a build AR w/sling and 10 mags

3:a decked out shotgun w/plenty of ammo

4:a basic AK w/plenty of ammo

So I'll stop my newb ranting and listen to the experts. Thanks.

·
Site Staff
9,613 Posts
systemmaster said:
Ok I'm putting this question to more experienced people. I am in the market for a long gun for defensive/sporting purposes. Right now I am stuck between either a shotgun or an assault rifle.

I'll be straight and say I have never fired a shotgun or assault rifle. My experienced is limited to hanguns, bolt action 30-06, and .22 rifle. However, I have plenty of experienced individuals to learn from.