MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to purchase my first pistol soon.Should I wait it out for the .45cal or .357.Or should I go ahead and get the .40.The range I started shooting at rents thr M&P 40.I have put 200 rounds through it and I love the M&P over the glock I tried.Any thoughts or comments would be great.

·
Registered
524 Posts
lol, I'm sorry but this has got to be one of the funnier questions posted.

Do you prefer .45, .357, or even 9mm over .40? If you buy the .40, you can get a .357 barrel later, and have both calibers. Sadly this can't be done with either 9 or .45. But, it all boils down to your preference of caliber.

·
Registered
505 Posts
this is deffinetly a decission your going to have to make on your own....we can give you suggestions and all of that, but we need to know what your plans for the gun are going to be.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Glad to be able to bring humor to the forum.I have been going to the range for about a month now and have shot 9m .45 .357 and .40.I really do not have any idea of the benifits of each caliber.I am purchasing a gun for range use only.maybe over time as I get into the sport I will get into competition shooting.

·
Registered
141 Posts
I'd purchase the 40 now.

Then after the 45 has been out for awhile (a year), purchase

one of those also.

That's my plan. :wink:

·
Registered
505 Posts
i currently own a 40 but am using it for home protection and range shooting....i plan on picking up a 9mm fullsie next that i can have worked over by a gunsmith for shooting range or competition if i decide to get involved in competition

my recommendation to you is the 9mm since you only planing on shooting at the range and possibly competition... i like the 40 and the little extra cost on bullets doesnt bother me. i think there all expensive...

good luck in your decision

·
Registered
26 Posts