MP-Pistol Forum banner

Which do you use, slide release or slingshot?

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I seemed to stir up some contraversy on a LE forum in Canada when I asked about the "slide release" on my M&P being very sticky. 500 rounds through it and it is still stcky.

All of the PO's scolded me for referring to the slide stop as a release and told me it was extremely dangerous in a firefight to advance the slide after reload with the slide stop. Fine motor skills go in the heat of combat so they all use the slingshot method. Aside from my father, the only training I have had has been with the Canadian Army. They taught the slide release method. And all other military I have asked have said the same.

My question is if your fine motor skills cannot operate the slide release then how did you operate the mag release?

Just curious what most US police officers use. I will try to attach a poll, but I am new at this:)

Thanks

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
When my fine motor skills go I revert to course motor skills. Sometimes they work better. You will do what you are used to doing when under pressure. If that is the release then that is what you will reach for. I usualy leave my slingshot at home when going to a gun fight myself.

I used a little wet and dry (600 grit) paper on the release and slide notch. It works wonders and won't prevent using the other method. My MPAxxxx 40 has a much flatter slide release than my MPBxxxx9 and is harder to release by thumb. I intend to see if the later version is available as an individual part.

Enjoy. :twisted:

·
Registered
291 Posts
I believe the probably of chambering a round goes up when using the slingshot method. After all, you are pulling the slide back futher.

Also when clearing jambs, everyone I have ever seen, uses the slingshot. It is a matter of doing it the same way every time.

I'm no expert, just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
112 Posts