MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started shooting about a year ago. I don't get to actually go out as much as I want. Currently I'm not doing any dry fire (I'm saving my pennies for a Dry Fire Mag with Mantis, because I can't see dry firing unless I can see and measure results.) I've had my M&P 9mm 2.0 4.25" about 6 months and I like it.

I began having problems hitting the bullseye. I could group fairly well -- most within a 4×6 card at 10 yards. Then I started going everywhere but, mostly a banana left and down. I pulled in to 4-5 yards and it's the same.

As near as I can tell, aside from some flinch, I seem to be milking the grip. That is, I'm moving the entire hand as I squeeze the trigger. And my support (left) hand also tightens, so where the final aim point is at ignition is anyone's guess!!

I tried a few things to narrow this down. If I shoot strong (right) hand only, with just my middle finger and thumb on the grip, I can get a pretty good group. I actually shot tea cup style and got a better group than two-hands tacticool.

Any advice on overcoming this??

·
Registered
478 Posts
The Mantis will help identify grip/trigger squeeze/hand movement issues when dry firing. I got one a couple years ago I think it works. I won't tell you when the sights aren't properly aligned with each other or the target, but it will tell you if you're moving the pistol when you squeeze the trigger.

Why do you need a dry fire magazine? Can't you clamp the Mantis on the frame rail and slightly rack the slide between trigger squeezes?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why do you need a dry fire magazine? Can't you clamp the Mantis on the frame rail and slightly rack the slide between trigger squeezes?
If my grip and hand movement is the problem, I don't want to release my grip to rack the slide each time. Kinda defeats the purpose of adjusting grip, testing, readjust, test some more, etc etc.

·
Registered