MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So...I've been debating this for the past few months. Should I apply for my concealed carry permit, or not. First, a little background:

My permenant residence is in one of the most firearm friendly counties in Iowa. So friendly that "demonstrated proficiency and responsibility" is a good enough reasoning for the Sheriff to issue a permit. Unfortunately, the current Sheriff has decided not to run for re-election, which I believe is next fall. If you pass an 8 hour course that includes firing about 50 rounds, pass the NCIC background check, and pay your $11, you're pretty likely to get a permit to carry. The class costs $75, so the grand total for a permit to carry in Polk County, Iowa is a measly $86.

Now here is where I run into my dilemma. I'm very new to firearms. My M&P is my first firearm and I've only had it about 5 months, and am by no means a great shot. However, the shooting portion of the class consists of shots at a full size shillouete target ranging from 5 to 25 yards. I've also been told that they pretty much have you shoot until you achieve the 75% required to pass. The permit is valid state-wide, with the usual alcohol and drugs restriction.

On the other hand, I spend 9 months out of the year in a different county, going to school. This is where I really have to question myself. I spend most of my days in class or at work. I'm not allowed to carry on campus or while at work, since I work on campus. I live off-campus, but aside from the usual runs to the grocery store and the occasional odd errand, I wouldn't really have much need to carry. The problem is I just can't justify it at this point. I know some of you might think that there's always a reason to carry, but I live in a quiet neighborhood, I never have large amounts of cash on me, and I'm kind of an intimidating figure so I don't have too many people messing with me when I'm out.