MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have knowledge or experience with using the hard case my M&P 9 2.0 came in to fly with? TSA website is vague and just says some cases that handguns are sold in, don’t pass inspection.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
I have no experience with it, but if I remember how my S&W guns came to me I would err on the side of safety and say no it won't pass. At the link (cursor down here and again once the link opens) are examples of what they find OK. Nothing I saw linked to look like a cheap plastic case used to deliver a handgun. But I admit that I didn't open every acceptable case that was linked to.

Heck, it's not just for TSA, it's for you. It's your gun, do you want it secure? That is, do you want to retrieve it upon landing or do you want an empty case?

If in doubt spend the $30 it takes and get a quality case that will pass both TSA and your airlines rules.

Good luck.

https://www.uponarriving.com/tsa-approved-gun-case/

·
Registered
680 Posts
From what I remember, the handgun is placed in a lockable case, in a lockable suitcase (two tiers of security).
If that is so, and your factory box is not lockable, it won't pass.

·
Registered
295 Posts
If the factory hard box has a place for a lock, you are GTG. It is not vague, it is just not unduly restrictive.

Also, a couple of pointers:

Print out the airline and TSA guidelines and have them with you. You would be amazed the number of TSA and airline employees that do not know their own policies.

Hang around a couple of minutes after your checked baggage goes through in case an issue arises.

Declare the firearm. There does not seem to be a standard of what the agents want done. One had me show the firearm clear, the other wanted the gun left alone on the same trip.

Don't use TSA approved locks, use better ones that are not universally opened by anyone with a badge.