MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What influenced you in buying your 1st M&P? For me it was my job I work with the NC Dept of Correction and in 2006 they adopted the M&P .40fs as their weapon of choice so while in basic training I had to qualify with this weapon I shot a 98% and qualified as an expert I knew then I had to have one. It also was the pistol of the year. So I got in on the ground floor.

·
Registered
298 Posts
In my case it was after going through the M&P pistol armorer class and having the chance to closely examine it.

Talking to a handful of folks in the class from other agencies who had either already been using them, or had been involved in T&E of them for a while and were getting up to speed as armorers for their adoption or at least authorized optional usage, was just enough to interest me in trying one. I didn't really see the need for yet another plastic pistol, already having a couple of Glocks and a couple of SW99's, but I came to appreciate the refinement and innovations incorporated in the M&P.

Now that I own a couple of them I could see owning yet another ... if it wasn't for the fact that I already own more guns than I can shoot every month and keep cleaned.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I'm very new to handguns. My friend works in the NRA's legal department and is a certified safety instructor, and I asked him what the most reliable out of the box, easy to use handgun would be. He gave me a list. I think the ones he said would be the most reliable were the M&P, Glock, and H&K. The H&K was way way out of my price range. I shot both the Glock and M&P, the M&P felt 100x more comfortable and had the option of the manual thumb safety which I liked. I also watched a lot of videos on Youtube to look at the operation of the different pistols and reviews.

·
Registered
414 Posts