MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just have a quick question but to explain I need to give some history. I have very little experience with automatic pistols. Growing up I learned to shoot on my dad's SW model 66 in .357/.38 but was not exposed to Autos until I had a freind in college. Now I own an MP9 and love it. I have only shot about 8 rounds through a 1911 in all my 33 years.

My question is, what makes the 1911 so great? Looking at features the SA only and having to carry "Cocked and Locked" seems a bit scary to me. The minimal mag capacity seems a bit puny especially considering you can carry any other .45 with 10-12 rounds. Don't get me wrong, I like the 1911 (based purely on others recomendations) and wish that I could afford one. Other's opinions are appreciated!

·
Registered
163 Posts
The 1911 was a great design in it's day, and has been improved, and refined over the years. It has few parts, is easy to field strip, and functions reliably. But by today's standards I would not classify it as being "great".

What really amazes me is that some people are willing to pay several thousands of dollars for these refined versions of the 1911. You can only do so much. Fact of the matter is, some of the most expensive, are also somewhat unreliable, due to their close tolerances, and tight fit.

·
Registered
434 Posts
features usually not found in modern semiautos are grip safety and a manual safety. A grip safety, sear disconnect, half cock position, and manual safety. many favor the theoretically greater stopping power of the .45 cartridge and the superior handling of the weapon in close fighting. Despite its relatively large size, the M1911 has a very flat profile owing to its single-stack magazine design, easing concealment. last but can't easily be ignored - it's timeless piece of craft, it has been changed little in nearly 100 years of production. :wink:

·
Registered
1,361 Posts