MP-Pistol Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How does one go about getting a good start in Competition Shooting? I am only 21, and don't even have my pistol yet, but I love the competitions that my school's Firearms club does when we go to the range.

I want to take a Tactical Pistol Course for my own personal protection, but where should I look to do this? Are there any good websites to visit for information? Im a total noob when it comes to this, so please bare with me.

Thanks,

Cameron

btw, I live in Daytona Beach, FL right now, if the geography helps to answer any questions

·
Registered
130 Posts
Some other ideas

Round Gun Shooter had good suggestions.

A good forum besides here is Brian Enos forum. http://www.brianenos.com/forums/

Ask around a local ranges about any tactical courses. There may be a good school in your area or a course coming to one of your local ranges.

There are several good schools that are known nationally. Gunsite http://www.gunsite.com/ and Thunder Ranch http://www.thunderranchinc.com/ to mention two.

There are also a number of DVDs you can buy that are very good. Thunder Ranch sells theirs. There's a ton listed at GunVideo. http://gunvideo.com/ And some very good competition videos are put out by Matt Burkett. http://www.mattburkett.com/

If you have Outdoor Channel they have a nice slate of shooting shows on Wednesday evening. Shooting Gallery, Shooting USA and Personal Defense are my 3 favorites. Shooting USA especially many times shows USPSA or IDPA competition and Personal Defense has segments from Thunder Ranch.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Cam,